Go Back   ScootDawg Forums > Performance :: Maintenance :: Technical > 50cc - 124cc

Old 07-05-2017, 12:10 AM   #1

Tao tao atm50-wont start (49cc)

Hello folks!
So I bought this tao tao 1 month ago, I have 444 kilometers on it. And all of a sudden it wont start up.
I changed the engine oil at 300 as it says in the manual.
So What i found out is, the spark plug is fine, yet I replaced it. The fuel line to the carburetor is fine. I don't get any moisture on my fingers while pressing it on the spark plug socket and cranking the scooter.
So there must be something wrong in between the carburetor and the spark plug.
This is my first time dealing with scooters and I don't know a lot of stuff about it.

Thanks in advance for any help

Login or Register to Remove Ads
Old 07-05-2017, 10:19 AM   #2

Trial and error, Jack. Remove the plug and check for spark. Open the float bowl and check for a stuck float.
Old 07-05-2017, 01:46 PM   #3

I checked the spark plug, it's fine. Still replaced it with NGK.
Thanks for the tip. I'll open up the float bowl and revert back.
I don't remember where, but on some forum i read that fuel with ethanol is bad for the scooter. Is that true? I never really cared about that. I use the 93 octane premium but most of the gas stations have some % of ethanol.

Old 07-05-2017, 01:50 PM   #4

Sometimes, even though they are new or low miles, left over trash or gunk from the assembly process will clog filters and such. Wheelbender pointed you in the right direction. Look for spark (I use a spark plug tester from Pep-Boys) and pull the drain on the bowl of the carb and see what does or does not come out. If no spark some scooters have a fuse around the battery that will blow. Let us know what progress you have made or if you still hit a wall!
Old 07-05-2017, 02:07 PM   #5

Thank you so much. I'll get some time tonight and i will check that out. I love the quick responses here.

Old 07-05-2017, 11:21 PM   #6