Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
Go Back   ScootDawg Forums > Performance :: Maintenance :: Technical > 250cc +

Old 11-11-2018, 04:13 PM   #1

Aeolus 300 story time, running rough.

I recently purchased my first scooter, (my 9th motorcycle) and have loved the damn thing to pieces. I bought it from a dealer that said it would just die randomly. I bought it, noticed the gas wasn't really gas anymore, sucked the old crap out and put some new Chevron 91 in her and had no issues. I rode the bike to and from work a few times, installed a replacement coil just in case the gas wasn't the only problem, and in my arrogance from being an automotive tech I didn't pay attention to which wire went where on the coil. Of course, this killed the new coil and the CDI on my way home from work and the bike died on the side of the road. I installed a new CDI and coil this weekend, got the wires right, and started her up, there's now new issues.

The bike was running super rough when I first started it up, popping out of the intake, loud backfires out the exhaust. I pulled the plug to find it had the wrong plug in it, a random Champion that wasn't actually long enough to sit in the chamber right. I replaced it with the factory NGK R Dr8ea gapped to 0.8mm. The bike runs better now, still not quite good enough. I have it warmed up now and it's idling a lot better, still not perfect.

I almost forgot as well, the stock intake rubber hardened up and no longer sits on the carb, so I ordered what I could and ended up with a filter on a 90 degree elbow. I know it will need a new primary jet if I keep this filter, however I'd like to get a more factory intake setup than this, preferably one with a nipple to route the PCV too. (pcv is currently routed to a filter I've tucked up in the body.)