ScootDawg Forums

ScootDawg Forums (http://www.scootdawg.net/index.php)
-   General Scooter Discussion (http://www.scootdawg.net/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   To vent or not to vent... (http://www.scootdawg.net/showthread.php?t=54008)

Frank Castle 02-27-2014 01:35 AM

To vent or not to vent...

hey scoot heads
quick question, have you seen this:

http://i233.photobucket.com/albums/e..._5erg_fzfo.png

is it better to have a vented cvt cover or not?

cheapeto 02-27-2014 08:08 AM

I'm no mechanic, but I have swapped out my roller weights. I'm wondering if all the road dirt would make your variator weights getting covered in dirt and then not rolling outward in the pockets properly.
The clutch pads and springs all getting more dirt and debris then normal.
It also seems like you'd create a vacume of sorts with the belt spinning in there, pulling in stuff??
I think it looks great, but I'm not sure it would be worth while out here in the sticks, maybe city riding it would be ok. IDK, just my $.02.

carasdad 02-27-2014 10:46 AM

Not to be the bearer of bad news again..however. Those do typically suck up dirt and road debris into your CVT and Clutch pulleys. Also beware that MANY of those are fake Chrome plating and peel easily. A few Companies stopped selling them because a few drops of gas oil and other things on them and the 'Chrome' washes off..leaving you with a dull aluminum cover.:ugh: Just trying to save you a few bucks..
Glenn

inuyasha 02-27-2014 12:37 PM

HI Glenn
Very good advice
Take care and ride safely dearest friend and comrade
Yours Hank

carasdad 02-27-2014 01:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by inuyasha (Post 525481)
HI Glenn
Very good advice
Take care and ride safely dearest friend and comrade
Yours Hank