PDA

View Full Version : Electrical issues

dh12791
07-09-2019, 11:02 PM
Melting Ignition High Tension Coils (part with spark plug wire coming off of it)

Hello all, newbie here.

So I am pretty well versed in scoots but electrical is definitely one of my weaker points. I am decent enough to be able to diagnose things but have a scoot that I am looking for some advice on.

Its a Keeway ARN 150 that keeps melting ignition coils. I am working on it for a friend and am told it has been replaced once so far and proceeded to melt another coil.

my first thought was that the voltage regulator might be bad but by checking with my multimeter it seems to be okay, although it is possible I may not have tested it properly.

My second thought is that there are a couple other wires grounded out to the same spot where the ignition coil bolts to (grounds to) the frame and I am wondering if it is possible that this may cause an overload of voltage or resistance to the coil? if that makes any sense

another thought is that maybe the first time it was replaced happened to just be a fault in the coil itself and that maybe the second one the melted up happened to be because the cdi was replaced at the same time from what I understand and I was looking at the difference between DC and AC CDIs. maybe it is a possibility that the first time was a fault with the coil and the second time melting had to do with and AC CDI in a DC system?