PDA

View Full Version : Newbie in 29 Palms, CA, with some questions.

WoodyNC87
11-16-2014, 05:32 PM
Good afternoon all!

I'm a newbie to the forum (but not to bikes or mechanics), and decided to join because this site has the most comprehensive information on scooters and looks to be a friendly community. I'm out here in Twentynine Palms, CA for some training until late summer next year, and need some help determining who's a good site/distributor to purchase from.

Most of the sites I found for TaoTao or SSR 150cc scoots range in price from $900-1,100 for CA legal rides. One site in particular caught my eye, as it has free shipping in the contiguous states and good prices. Has anyone purchased from Powersports Distro? They've got a FB site as well, and don't seem to be your typical drop-shipper that I've had bad experience with in buying a DongFang bobber several years ago.

Also, between TaoTao and SSR, which would you all prefer? I've done a bit of research on TaoTao here, and it seems to be a good make past the '08 model years. I need to do some searching on SSR, which I'll do tonight. Thanks for any help you can offer, I do appreciate your time and assistance!

-Rob

kz1000st
11-16-2014, 06:56 PM
No matter which seller you choose make sure the scooter you look at is CARB approved. BMS sells a line of CARB approved scooters. I don't know if Tao Tao is CARB approved.

WoodyNC87
11-16-2014, 08:39 PM
The site I'm looking at has most of the TaoTao scooters listed as CARB approved. A few aren't, but I'll be looking into it to make sure. ScooterDepot and a few other sites list the same models as CARB approved, makes me wonder just how these get approved, and others don't when they're all basically the same engines (as far as I can tell). Maybe different emissions controls?

kz1000st
11-17-2014, 09:48 AM
http://www.superiorpowersports.com/category_s/180.htm