PDA

View Full Version : Pittsburgh, PA new scooter rider - Linhai 300cc.

Breakneck
09-04-2014, 04:13 PM
Hello everybody, I'm new to the scooter game as a rider but have been looking into getting a scooter for a little while now.

I recently purchased a red 2008 Linhai 300 Aeolus with only 700 miles on it for an extremely low price. IMO it isn't even broken in yet.

I've done some research into the Linhai's and Chinese scooters and am aware of some of the issues that can come with being an owner of these models but I am not afraid to do the maintenance work to keep it going either. Actually I really like diving into the mechanics of things and understanding the 'why's' and 'how's' of an object. I look forward to improving the quality and performance of my scoot.

I also received my motorcycle permit the day I purchased my scoot as in Pennsylvania a 300cc scooter is actually considered a motorcycle. (I'm not sure how other states view these things.)

Riding has been great and I love it right off the bat!
I have seen a steady increase of scooters in the Pittsburgh area and I think the number is going to keep going up. I can see that there is a sort of underground or culture developing around using scooters in my area.

I plan on replacing my belt, spark plug, ignition coil, & battery asap and then pushing towards some of the upgrades that are available.

Any help with a quality parts dealer, information specifically dealing with Linhai 300's, or other stories & info you can give me is greatly appreciated! It seems that parts for this model are harder to find than the lower cc engines which seems a little backwards to me being that it would seem that people want to go faster and the attention would be on the higher cc engines rather than the lower cc engines.