PDA

View Full Version : DC/VA rider, no title on scooter

takadi
05-01-2014, 09:28 PM
I bought a junked broken chinese 150 cc scooter for about 400 bucks on craigslist about three years ago. Spent lots time researching about scooters being a complete noob back then, spent lots of money on parts and mods. Fun times. I was able to get it to work beautifully and rode it for a summer with no license, no title no nothing, it was one of the best times I've had. I was completely ignorant back then and also didn't realize you needed titles. Never got caught or even had a cop look at me funny, so I didn't realize I did anything wrong. The guy who I bought it from just drove it to my house for free, no questions asked. I don't even have proof of purchase anymore, since the majority of the transaction took place over text messaging on a phone that I lost. I thought I made it off big time.

After the summer the scooter ran into a number of problems being a cheap chinese bike...rubber parts busting open, caps breaking, things getting loose, tires going flat, just everything ...there were no scooter mechanics around my area, I could only do so much being a beginner... life happened, and the scooter basically sat outside for three years in the most horrific weather, had a cover for a year and half but that was torn to shreds so it was basically naked outside for the rest.

Decided earlier this year to either trash it or fix it up. I had already invested so much into it 3 years ago trying to fix it and mod it up and I decided to try to find someone to make it brand new again to ride. There was emotional investment in this bike too so I was attached to it. Finally was able to find some guy, and the scooter was in terrible shape...final bill was 500 bucks for parts and labor and now it works again. I was so happy