PDA

View Full Version : From So Cal (La Habra), new Puma Falcon and I need info

Robbro19
09-13-2013, 01:36 PM
Hey peoples, I got a black 2013 Puma Falcon 150cc and I love it so far. Have about 200 miles on it. Only issue is when I start it first thing in the morning after it sat in the garage over night, it dies out when idling. I have to roll the throttle several times while warming up or it will die and I have to start it again. I dont think its the battery as I have it hooked up to a tender to keep the battery fully charged. It always starts up fast but after about a minute, it starts to dies and then it does.

After its fully warmed up when riding around, its fine. Just annoying how I have to keep rolling the throttle in the morning to keep it from dying. Any help would be greatly appreicated! I have a 5 year warranty but would rather just try to do it myself as I want to learn.

I'm new to scooters/motorcycles and dont know a whole lot of lingo and parts name. I barely found out what a carburator does after doing research, lol. Please send me in the right direction with links and teach the basic and such as parts, what they do and pictures. I really want to learn all about a scooter mechanically should something come up that I need to fit. Thanks for your time peoples! :-)

techie610
09-13-2013, 02:09 PM
First, welcome to the Forums. :D
I have the 2007 Sportiva Falcon 150. Love her to death. Great bike.

It may be doing that just cause its new, and hasn't been broke in yet. Give it some miles before thinking something is wrong. Around 500 miles, change the oil and spark plug. Both are real easy to do. A little bit more into it, but must be done, is a Valve Lashing.
If your problem continues, you might need to change the jets in the Carb. Most Scootists do go up a few sizes.