PDA

View Full Version : Scooters and Image (What are your stories?)

Zouflain
06-14-2013, 12:25 PM
I'm new to the world of scooters and I find myself curious and looking to brace for the worst. After all, people are shallow, materialistic, and aggressively conformist.

That said, do you guys get the sort of flak that's stereotypically directed at scooter owners? I know the harley crowd and that sort of clique will never be sweet and kind to outsiders or what they perceive as "imitators," but I mean in general. Has your choice of a scooter over hottest new mustang or whatnot ever aversely affected you? Conversely, has it ever been a boon? I'd love to hear your stories. Thanks.

amac1680
06-14-2013, 01:03 PM
Hi,

Others will tell you they have had issues and I don't doubt them.
I have never had "mean spirited" stuff thrown at me and I put in tons of miles. I ride with other scoots and have scooted with my HD friends no issue.

You get back what you project, I'm confident with my choice of bike and most HD types, and I was once one, like that.

Yep there are butt-heads out there but the rare comment doesn't bother me. When it happens I wave or make a little joke. I've dealt with far worse.

All the best.

Be Big,
AMAC

mrmike
06-14-2013, 04:18 PM
Zouflain

I owned a Harley FXSTD for 13 years and enjoyed riding it. When I hit 68, I decided to get something lighter and more manageable. Last year, I sold the Harley and bought a People 150. I rode it all summer, and really enjoyed it. The only downside was the limited (60mph) top end on the interstates. Last fall I sold the 150, and in January I bought a GTI300. I never looked back. My only regret is that I didn't buy a scooter sooner. Most Harley riders are pretty decent folks, and you can just ignore the others. Ride safe.

inuyasha
06-14-2013, 06:14 PM
Hi
I ride what makes me happy, i could care less what others may think
And i love own and ride motorbikes of all shapes and sizes