PDA

View Full Version : Newb from Texas...

keltex78
05-10-2013, 11:24 AM
Hey all, a newb to the world of scooters here, looking to purchase my first scooter to save a bit on gas costs. I recently joined another scoot forum, so I'll copy my intro post here with all of the boring details...

I live in Northeast Texas, Kilgore/Henderson/Longview area. I work in IT for a company with several nearby locations I support. I frequently have to travel between these sites, with trips ranging from 1 - 18 miles each way. On top of that, I currently have a 23-mile each-way commute to get to work. This commute is about 50% in-town, with the remaining on Farm Roads where my speed rarely climbs above 55mph. My current vehicle is a Nissan Titan Pickup, and the 70+mpg offered by these scooters is extremely tempting compared to the 17mpg I average in my truck. I get a milage reimbursement on my work-related travel. I've checked and found that insurance is extremely affordable on these scooters. I know parts are cheap, and easy to replace, so this sounds like a good opportunity to save money. I've already prepared a simple spreadsheet calculating fuel costs, and with my current milage and fuel expenses, a bike like this should pay for itself in less than a year.