PDA

View Full Version : General info on 150cc Roketta '08 Fiji

DW
04-16-2013, 04:47 PM
Hi all. The wife and I have been riding 2 of these for the past 3 years with the normal problems arising from time to time. Thought I would share my issues and my solutions with these two scoots. I live in Spokane Washington so the riding season is about 7 to 8 months a year. I ride mine everywhere I go unless weather, taking a lot of stuff, or too many passengers force me to drive. It has not always been a smooth trip tho.

We can't get parts in town for our bikes and no shop will even look at them. I wouldn't have considered that an issue because I am fairly good at trouble shooting and took the time to read the forums and watch the vids. The only real problem I have is waiting for parts in the mail while I am forced to drive the family mini van.

The stock Roketa Fiji took a couple mods like better headlight bulbs L.E.D. tail light, and a set of mirrors that I could live with. After digging I found some brighter headlight bulbs at 35W instead of the 25W stock lamps. Had to adjust the reflector some but I can see the potholes at night now. The tail light (1157) was way too dim in daylight so I found one of those L.E.D. 3 wire trailer lights at walmart, trimmed it down to fit inside the reflector with the Dremmel soldiered some wires to the terminals, broke the old bulb to get access to the base to solder the wires in and it works great.

I change the oil every 500 to 800 miles due to lack of an oil filter. Gear lube change every 1500 miles.

Wife had a problem with low tire pressure from the cheesy valve stems so I replaced them all with the type with a nut to hold them in place. Used the C-clamp method to pull the side of the tire over to gain access to the inside of the valve without taking the rim off the bike. Works like a charm! Did all 4 in about an hour.