PDA

View Full Version : ScootDawg

scootnwinn
01-27-2013, 02:52 PM
Many members aren't on all the time and are posting at the old forum I set my profile text to this

http://www.scootdawg.net/
go there

which is 1300 and some odd advertisements for this place. If you like the new site and all that is being done and are not in support of proboards owning your thoughts old and new you may consider doing the same. Just saying

:nod: :nod:

terrilee
01-27-2013, 03:05 PM
@winn

now im NOT a lawyer, but i think they do.
when u signed the TOS agreement, it was in there,
but for real, how many actually read TOS or w/e name they give it.

hope it gets settled civilly, depends on how much each side wants to bend.

scootnwinn
01-27-2013, 03:28 PM
The CEO of proboard clearly admitted he didn't own the posts we have licensed him to use them:

Further, the postings on this site are not owned by the forum admin - they have zero right to sell them to a third party. They are owned by the person who posted the message. When a person makes a post on a ProBoards forum, they specifically license ProBoards to use that content on the ProBoards forum.

We own our own thoughts, by their own admission, and proboards would like to think they can keep them.

We are able to collectively, if he wants to be a jerk, revoke that license and en-masse delete or threaten to delete our posts which is not all that difficult and also our accounts. He won't like that at all so if we actually like the new board and the idea of meaningful and constant moderation this can be done. Things can be done. I am not a lawyer but I do make sure none are never needed at work ;)

macktheknife
01-27-2013, 03:42 PM
Funny you had no problem with them owning your thoughts and such back then when it was the only SD? Why now? Also see you still posting there so if you don't want them to have your info the easiest way to do that is just delete the posts one by one and then the account.